

# Extraordinary Meeting of the Council

Minutes - 28 March 2018

## Attendance

Deputy Mayor Cllr Phil Page (Lab)

#### Labour

Cllr Ian Angus Cllr Harbans Bagri Cllr Harman Banger Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Philip Bateman MBE Cllr Peter Bilson Cllr Alan Bolshaw Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Ian Brookfield Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Claire Darke Cllr Steve Evans Cllr Steve Evans Cllr Val Evans Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal

### Conservative

Cllr Barry Findlay Cllr Christopher Haynes Cllr Christine Mills Cllr Patricia Patten Cllr Arun Photay

#### **Employees**

Keith Ireland Kevin O'Keefe Mark Taylor Claire Nye Laura Phillips Tim Johnson Colin Parr Jaswinder Kaur Emma Bennett David Watts Cllr Val Gibson Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre Cllr Keith Inston Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Andrew Johnson Cllr Rupinderjit Kaur Cllr Welcome Koussoukama Cllr Welcome Koussoukama Cllr Roger Lawrence Cllr Linda Leach Cllr Louise Miles Cllr Louise Miles Cllr Lynne Moran Cllr Anwen Muston Cllr Peter O'Neill

Cllr Paul Singh

**Cllr Udey Singh** 

Cllr Wendy Thompson Cllr Andrew Wynne Cllr Rita Potter Cllr John Reynolds Cllr John Rowley Cllr Judith Rowley Cllr Zee Russell Cllr Sandra Samuels OBE Cllr Caroline Siarkiewicz Cllr Stephen Simkins Cllr Mak Singh Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Paul Sweet Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman Cllr Martin Waite Cllr Daniel Warren

#### UKIP

**Cllr Malcolm Gwinnett** 

Managing Director Director of Governance Strategic Director - People Director of Finance Head of Business Management Deputy Managing Director/Strategic Director - Place Head of Governance Democratic Services Manager Director of Children's Services Director of Adult Services

#### Item No. Title

#### 1 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Payal Bedi-Chadha, Ian Claymore and Jonathan Yardley.

- 2 **Declarations of interest** There were no declarations of interests were made.
- 3 **Creation of the Role of Honorary Recorder of the City of Wolverhampton** The Leader of the Council presented the report requesting Council to create the honorary post of Honorary Recorder of the City of Wolverhampton and thereafter to consider appointing to the position His Honour Judge James Burbidge QC, the Senior Resident Circuit Judge at Wolverhampton Crown Court.

The Leader of the Council proposed and Councillor Andrew Wynne seconded the recommendations.

#### Resolved:

- 1. That the position of Honorary Recorder of the City of Wolverhampton be created.
- 2. That His Honour Judge James Burbidge QC be appointed as the first Honorary Recorder of the City of Wolverhampton.
- 3. That thereafter the title of Honorary Recorder of the City of Wolverhampton shall pass automatically to the Senior Residing Judge of Wolverhampton Crown Court upon their appointment by the Lord Chief Justice.

The Deputy Mayor presented a Scroll to His Honour Judge James Burbidge QC who expressed his thanks to the Council for creating the honorary post and appointing him as the Honorary Recorder of the City of Wolverhampton.

#### 4 Freedom of the City

The Leader of the Council presented the report requesting the Council bestow the honour of Freedom of the City to Steve Bull MBE and Beverley Knight MBE in recognition of their eminent services to the City of Wolverhampton and public relations.

The Leader of the Council proposed, Councillor Wendy Thompson seconded and Councillor Malcolm Gwinnett supported the recommendations and paid tribute to the contribution Steve Bull MBE and Beverley Knight MBE had made and continue to make to the City of Wolverhampton.

Resolved:

- 1. That the honour of Freedom of the City be bestowed to Steve Bull MBE and Beverley Knight MBE in recognition of their eminent services to the City of Wolverhampton and public relations.
- 2. That arrangements be made in due course to celebrate the honour.